The Ship of the DESERT


The Camel is called ‘The ship of the desert’ because it takes people over the desert like a ship carrying people over the ocean. Camels are unique-looking creatures that are famous for their humps. They live in the desert areas of Africa and Asia. There are 2 types of camel: Dromedary, which has one hump and Bactrian, which has two humps. Both types can be domesticated.


  • Camels can reach 7 feet in height and weigh up to 700 kg.
  • They are specially adapted to the life in desert.
  • Their eyes have three eyelids and two rows of eyelashes that prevent sand from entering their eyes.
  • Camel’s ears are furry. Its hair keep the sand and dust away from their ears.
  • The camel’s foot consists of two toes that spread when the animal touches the ground and prevent it from sinking into the sand.
  • Most people believe that humps store water, but they actually store fat, which the animal uses as a source of energy when other food sources are not available.
  • The camel can survive without food and water for a long period of time.
  • When they find water, they drink as much water as possible. They can drink up to 150 litres of water at once.
  • Camels can run 40 miles per hour.
  • Camels were used in numerous wars (especially in desert areas) in the past because of their ability to travel long distances without water and food.
  • The calf of the camel can run for a few hours after it is born.
  • Camels live for 40-50 years.